New year, new hobby

So my sister-in-law talked me into going to a steampunk costume party.    As I scoured the net looking for the perfect pair of goggles, or a good bag, it occurred to me that I could have all the neat leather accent pieces I wanted if I learned to make them myself.   And as I was researching how, I came across leathercrafting.

Leathercrafting involves the process of using special tools to carve and imprint your pattern into the leather. If you’re good at it, you can put just about anything you want into the leather.  And I want to be good.

We ended up not going to the party, but I have still taken up the hobby.  This blog will chronicle my ongoing adventures in leathercrafting, with pictures, and explanations, and plenty of screw-ups.  I’m a law student, so I can’t promise this blog will update with any sort of regularity, but putting up a page is a reminder that I want to make time for this.

Published in: on January 5, 2011 at 4:42 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://carvingleather.wordpress.com/2011/01/05/hello-world/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment